Hearing on How Mega-Mines Get Approved

From the tyee

Key Hearing on How Mega-Mines Get Approved
Feds broke own rules on public input: Mining Watch.
View full article and comments here http:///News/2008/05/15/MineHearing/
By Christopher Pollon
Published: May 15, 2008
TheTyee.ca

An appeal case being heard today in Vancouver will have a profound effect on how resource-based mega-projects are reviewed by the federal government, and in particular, the ability of the public to provide comment and meaningful input.

Last September, the federal court ruled that the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) and Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) acted illegally in shielding the proposed Red Chris copper and gold mine from a comprehensive environmental assessment (EA), including mandatory public consultation.

Arguments for this original case were made by Ecojustice, on behalf of MiningWatch Canada, who alleged the federal government broke its own laws when it chose to do a limited screening of selected impacts of the Red Chris project.

Justice Luc Martineau agreed with MiningWatch Canada and ordered that the necessary federal permits needed by Red Chris be denied until a more in-depth EA be completed.

With that decision now under appeal, it will probably be months before federal and provincial government agencies, industry and environmentalists know whether the fight has been lost or won.

“If we win, [the federal government] will have to do a comprehensive environmental assessment for any mine over a certain size,” says MiningWatch Canada National Coordinator Joan Kuyek. “If we lose, it will revert to letting the responsible [federal] authorities determine the track of the project review, and to pursue a strategy of rushing it through at all costs.”

Breaking its own laws?

37 thoughts on “Hearing on How Mega-Mines Get Approved

  1. Gold or opper tones, up your eyes will be better highlighted they themselves often contain natural glitter
    inside iris. Compliment your brown eyes with pale pinks, or accent the brown with
    gold and deep rusts. One thing to keep in mmind would bbe to remember
    to nott apply eye-shadow below your eyes.

  2. I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.

    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net
    will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  3. Meta Description – Meta description plays the role of attracting viewers
    to reach particular pages. Many sites now use their fonts as
    much as for visuals as they do for conveying information. These days for
    any small problems or small inquiries about anything, people just
    use the web.

  4. Link exchange is nothing else but it is simply placing the other person’s webpage link on your
    page at suitable place and other person will also do similar for you.

  5. They will evaluate your case thoroughly to see if any loopholes exist or
    police mistakes were made in order to put together a legal strategy that will produce the best possible outcome for your case.
    If you get arrested for DUI and failed in sobriety test then there is no doubt
    that the moments of fun will get turned to a horror story within few seconds.
    Unlike other convictions, your driver’s license will not be suspended; however, this is
    the lightest penalty among Pennsylvania DUI law.

  6. A local DUI Attorney in Los Angeles County will know personnel in the police department,
    court and other attorneys involved and what argument
    may work best with the Los Angeles court and police authorities.
    All the arrest is doing is drawing more attention to the problem.
    Do not hire a lawyer whose win percentage is low: You will find a lot of DUI
    attorneys who deal with a number of cases at the same
    time.

  7. I have been exploring for a bit ffor any high quality articles or weblog
    posts on this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website.Reading this info So
    i’m satisffied to express that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I
    came upon exactly what I needed. I most undoubtedly will make certain to
    do not fail to remember this site and give it a look on a relentless basis.

  8. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after
    checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  9. And, as each condition is explained, you will find
    multiple possible causes that are examined using clues which
    might be clearly explained so that the most harried parent or stumped professional could become a good symptom detective.
    High cholesterol medications slow your liver’s production–they do not have anything to do
    with food, diet, or nutrition. Calcium – numbers of calcium inn menstruating women decrease 10 to 14 days prior too the onset of menstruation.

  10. This design is spectacular! You certainly know how to
    keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost
    moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  11. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into
    any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is
    popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any methods to help
    prevent content from being stolen? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  12. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal.
    I must say that you’ve done a awesome job with this. In addition, the blog loads
    super fast for me on Safari. Excellent Blog!

  13. An accident causes you so much physical and
    emotional distress that finding a reliable Boca Raton personal injury lawyer is
    near the bottom of your to-do list. Any skilled personnel knows
    the tricks of the trade and have a full knowledge of the rules.

    Broad tenure can be of added advantage in the personal injury field.

  14. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time
    and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something
    like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward
    to your new updates.

  15. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have really loved surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

  16. I believe that is one of the so much important information for me.
    And i am glad studying your article. But should observation on few common things,
    The web site style is great, the articles is in point of fact nice :
    D. Good activity, cheers

  17. Thanks to Apollo Wine and Liquor for partnering with all the Austin Area Art
    Center in thyis fashion. Today you are able to buy aan array of batik creations which range from
    evening gowns tto sarees and t-shirts to swimwear. The origin of the nane with the town of
    Pekalongan as expressed with the community as being a waled there are many versions.

  18. Definitely consider that that you said. Your favourite justification seemed to
    be on the web the easiest factor to bear in mind of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed at the same time as people think about issues that they plainly do not recognize
    about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , other people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  19. Have you ever thought about publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  20. Thhere are lots of incremental benefits to tha harsh truth with the above solution according to efficiency providing a
    practitioner having the ability to spend more time on patient care
    and revenue generating opportunities. The ppark has 116 type of amphibians
    andd reptiles, 139 kind of mammals and over 400 types of birds.
    A visit to Disney World will get pricy, yet it’s a trip our loved ones will remember for anyy lifetime.

  21. I’m not sure why but this blog is loading extremely slow
    for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a
    issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still
    exists.

Leave a Reply

