This was the moment

I don’t watch television, but I almost wish I had caught this one live.  (What would I do without YouTube?)  I found two glorious nuggets in Barack Obama‘s victory speech after the Iowa Caucus on Thursday night.  The first:

I’ll be a President who harnesses the ingenuity of farmers and scientists and entrepreneurs to free this nation from the tyranny of oil once and for all.  And I’ll be a President who ends this war in Iraq and finally brings our troops home, who restores our moral standing, who understands that 9/11 is not a way to scare up votes but a challenge that should unite America and the world against the common threats of the 21st century — common threats of terrorism and nuclear weapons, climate change and poverty, genocide and disease.

OK, so that probably qualifies as six or eight.  Wow!  A US presidential possibility talking about the tyranny of oil, the threats of nuclear weapons, climate change and poverty?  w00t!  Not surprising this dude won!  I hope he has excellent security around him because the KKK can’t be too happy about it.

Here’s the second shining nugget:

Hope is that thing inside us that insists, despite all the evidence to the contrary, that something better awaits us if we have the courage to reach for it and to work for it and to fight for it.  Hope is what I saw…Hope is what led me here today…

After he won the SK election in November 2007, Brad Wall shouted,  Hope beats fear! Hope beats fear!  I cringed when I heard that language.  Hope doesn’t beat anything.  It’s scientifically wrong.  And, there was certainly no evidence contrary to a definitive Sask Party win before the SK election in November.

Obama understands hope.  Hope is something we can have and hold.  We can dare to choose it.  We can choose to find the courage to work towards that for which we hope.  We can use that courage to make change in our personal and public lives.  Tommy Douglas knew about that, too.  It’s evident in his epitaph, Courage my Friends, ’tis not too late to make a better world.  I think Barak and Tommy would be buds were the times different.

I don’t know if Barack Obama is the right guy to lead the Democrats to victory.  My sense is he’s a good guy, a little less radical than I would want.  But he could pull the vote from where it’s never been pulled and the USA is long overdue for a black president.  Here’s his full victory speech, if you’re interested.

 

With thanks to that bastard logician with three t’s, mattt, for the nudge.

5 thoughts on “This was the moment

  1. Pingback: » This was the moment

  2. I left the humans that very day, to spread the good news. And now I travel from place to place. I have walked for leagues beyond measure. I have starved, sometimes, and often I have been hurt. But I have walked on.

    In a metal machine I crossed the cold waters. I have preached to solitary feral cars in empty places. I have shouted my message to the stars from rooftops and whispered it to dying cats in alleyways.

    I have spoken to one cat, and to many. And wherever I have gone, my message is the same…

    Dream it!

    Dream the world. Not this pallid shadow of reality. Dream the world the way it truly is. A world in which all cats are queens and kings of creation. That is my message.

    – Neil Gaiman, A Dream of a Thousand Cats (Sandman #18)

    Obama’s victory in Iowa this past Thursday–and that wonderful, spine-chilling speech–seems to have instilled quite a lot of hope among so many. “Resonance”, as my friend Gary Farber put it over @ Obsidian Wings.

    Obama really connects with disparate groups of people; he defies demographics. He is the first truly presidential candidate in years, someone who seems entirely comfortable and confident in the role for all the right reasons. Not because he harbours a lust for power, a sociopathic need to make it to the top no matter what, but out of a genuine sense of resposibility and civic duty: because serving the public is the right thing to do.

    That touches something in people, melts away well-deserved cynicism cultivated by years of politics-as-usual.

    Above all, Obama seems to hold great respect for the Executive Office. In contrast, the current resident-in-chief, with his willfully indifferent scorn and disregard for the Constitution and the Rule of Law, appears possessed by partisan contempt for everything that is supposed to make America ‘America’. I really think that, policy and ideological differences aside, an Obama presidency would be healing, a symbolic catalyst of unity for a world still desperately seeking post-9/11 (and post-November 2000) closure.

    Hope. HOPE! A dream can still transform a world consumed by darkness, “this pallid shadow of reality.”

    “Dream the world the way it truly is.”

    More from Atrios and Kevin Drum.

  3. BTW, I was privileged to watch the speech live on TV. Is one of those moments that will forever resonate within me.

    Chills.

    No hyperbole: it really was on par with JFK and MLK.

    Oh, and I’ve expanded my above comment into a post. W00T.
    😉

  4. Pingback: bastard.logic

  5. Pingback: Dream Country » Comments from Left Field

Leave a Reply

