Grandmother to do time

From the inbox, this, from an American grandmother who dares to challenge the military industrial complex:

Dear family and friends,

In nine days, on March 21, I will report to the Sacramento County Jail for
my 60 day sentence for unauthorized trespassing onto military property.  I
think you all know by now that this is consequence of my action at
Ft.Benning Army Base in Columbus, GA last November 19.  I participated ­
along with 22,000 others, including 1000 Grandmothers ­ in the annual
protest and vigil to close down the controversial School of the
Americas/Western Hemisphere Institute for Security Cooperation (WHINSEC)
which has been in operation since 1946.   Going to a county jail is
something new for us federal misdemeanorites.  In the past, it has been
federal prison or fed. prison camp.  I had become familiarized with the Fed.
System, but I do not know what to expect from county jails since every one
can be different.  Not all of us 16 are assigned to county jails, but I am.
Conveniently, it is just 2 hours away for my house.

My address will be, should you wish to drop a line.  I hope to be able to
write backŠ

Catherine M. Webster  #92948020

Rio Cosumnes Correctional Center
12450 Bruceville Road
Elk Grove, CA 95757

I am perfectly fine with this upcoming ³change of venue²; I feel no anxiety
(other than leaving my family behind), nor shame.  I do feel resolute in
calling to citizens¹attention what our taxes are paying for, and thus what
we as a nation are participating in.  As a prisoner of conscience, I am in
good company, stretching back centuries.

I will also be participating in and promoting the Close The SOA Fast, April
25-27.  This is a juice/water only fast for three days in anticipation of a
May vote in Congress to defund the SOA/WHINSEC.  Lobbying Congress has been
a year round effort for sixteen years.  The Fast is to create more energy in
our cosmos to encourage Congress to do the right thing.  I hope and
encourage you to participate as well.  You can get the details on the
SOAWatch website, www.soaw.org <http://www.soaw.org/> .  1000 Grandmothers
is promoting it in Chico.  This action is what soulforce is about.

I¹ll be sending letters to be posted on the 1000grandmothers website,
www.1000grandmothers.net <http://www.1000grandmothers.net/>  , and hopefully
calling in to my local radio stations during my stay.  Meanwhile, peace to
you all.  Thanks for your prayers and support.

I expect to spring out on May 19 ­ just in time for the Bay to Breakers run
in SF, May 20.

Paz, Cath
Leave a Reply

