Paranoia?

If I harm none as I speak truth to power and work for the freedom of all people, I do nothing wrong or illegal. Yet, when a patrol car with one or two uniformed officers pulled up and idled outside my house (on a quiet, residential street) for five or so minutes just 15 minutes after my last series of posts, I had a flash of panic and froze like an animal in the headlights. When the car drove away I thought of the poem Don't Let It Happen Here by the brilliant blues man, Charles Mingus.

Is it happening here?

with apologies to Charles Mingus (1922 – 1979)

One day they came and they took the terrorists,
And I said nothing because I was not a terrorist.

Then one day they came and they took the people of one faith,
And I said nothing because I had no faith left.

One day they came and they took the unionists,
And I said nothing because I was not in a union.

One day they burned down the churches.
And I said nothing because I don't go to church.

Then one day they came and they took me.
And I could say nothing because I was guilty as they were,
For not speaking out and saying that all people have a right to freedom.

2 thoughts on “Paranoia?

  1. Your story reminds me a rainy night a few years back when I was busted for a yellow light infraction with you as my passenger, and the police took their sweet ass time writing up the ticket, then handing it back to me like I was the most wanted criminal in the world.

Leave a Reply

